top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark Sheldan

Lonesome Hills


Acrylic Painting by Mark Sheldan

Welcome to a working class dirge with deep sentimental lyrics and mournful harmonica that rips through your soul like a starving vulture tearing at your bones. This emotional, desperate saga was inspired by one of my previous jobs; loading up big trucks with assorted products weighing anywhere from 30 to 3000 pounds. As I was transferring oil from one tanker to another in miserable, cold, rainy weather, I was feeling the ‘dead-end job, repeat till you die, underpaid blues’. Something had to be said about it and I was just the guy to do it.





'Lonesome Hills' can be found anywhere, depending on one's perspective. A person can feel totally alone in a crowd or pure companionship in nature and quiet places. I for one, have no love for the 'pay check to paycheck', '9 to 5' job, but unfortunately, I have been plagued with a few loser positions on the dirty road of employment. And I know I'm not alone in that sentiment. Writing this song, I pictured the hills around a small, backwoods town with tired, vacant-eyed folks who say hello but don't really give a crap. As usual, my artistry took over and I created this cathartic, country-folk ballad that expressed the numbness in my soul.

Mark hard at work

The cross-picking I did on my acoustic guitar plays well with the poetic imagery as the story-telling unfolds. Lea sang the haunting harmonies that echo through this powerful piece like a solemn dream on a wisp of a cloud. (leasheldan.com) Her brother, Russell Lybarger, wailed on his brand new harmonica with such passion and gut wrenching awareness, it sends shivers of pleasure through your bones. We gave him two solos because it was so beautiful. I tried to evoke as much emotion as I could from my crusty old voice. The blending of Smokeywine vocals adds to the melancholy nature of the piece. (smokeywine.com) Before y'all get restless, I'd like to close by thanking all my listeners out there. Please keep supporting organic, homegrown music and local artists. Until next time, keep pounding on that hammer, don't get too lonesome and beware of talking vultures. Mark Sheldan.



To listen to 'Lonesome Hills' right now, click here:


If you have SPOTIFY, please download here:


Sing along with the lyrics below:

Lonesome Hills

The snow was falling heavy, the sky was bleak and grey

A bitter wind was cracking trees that got in its way

On that restless evening I was born

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Seem I’m always working, trying to make ends meet

Loading up the big trucks, send them down the street

Life is always hard as a stone

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Lonesome hills, (lonesome hills) lonesome hills (lonesome hills)

Here in the lonesome hills of home

Everybody says hello but they leave you alone

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Taxman keeps on calling, my mind’s about to break

Keep pounding on that hammer, how much more can this boy take

Lord I need to spend some time alone

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Lonesome hills, (lonesome hills) lonesome hills (lonesome hills)

Here in the lonesome hills of home

Everybody says hello but they leave you alone

Here in the lonesome hills of home


I was talking with a vulture, this is what he said

I’m just gonna hang around, till you’re good and dead

Then I’ll pick the skin right off your bones

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Lonesome hills, (lonesome hills) lonesome hills (lonesome hills)

Here in the lonesome hills of home

Everybody says hello but they leave you alone

Here in the lonesome hills of home


Lonesome hills, (lonesome hills) lonesome hills (lonesome hills)

Here in the lonesome hills of home

When I die spread my ashes and my bones

Here in the lonesome hills of home

Here in the lonesome hills of home

Here in the lonesome hills of home


written by Mark Sheldan

copyright 2016 Socan



Painting by Mark Sheldan



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page